Australian Major Performing Arts Group (AMPAG)

Professional development / Last updated 1 year, 3 months ago

The Australian Major Performing Arts Group, or AMPAG, is the umbrella group for Australia's major performing arts companies who inspire millions through theatre, circus, contemporary dance, classical ballet, classical music, opera, musicals and comedy

AMPAG, as the representative body of Australia’s 28 major performing arts companies, gives its member companies a national voice and presence. These companies make a huge contribution to arts education—in 2013 reaching 550,247 students in schools around Australia.

They provide:

  • professional training for teachers 
  • arts education programs for students
  • live performances for schools
  • subsidised tickets for performances
  • a range of resources, including digital programs

The companies extend and complement the learning and teaching of performing arts in all schools, including within the context of the arts curriculum. 

It is their vision that all students, regardless of location and economic circumstances, have access to the MPA companies and their education programs—programs which model best professional practice and excellence across the performing arts.

Our Members

National

Australian Chamber Orchestra
Sarah Conolan: 02 8274 3871
education@aco.com.au

Bangarra Dance Theatre
Shane Carroll: 02 9251 5333
bangarra@bangarra.com.au

Bell Shakespeare
Bell Shakespeare Learning: 1300 305 730
learning@bellshakespeare.com.au

Circus Oz
Pippin Aitken: 03 9676 0325
classes@circusoz.com.au

Musica Viva
Kimbali Harding: 1300 663 608
education@musicaviva.com.au

Opera Australia
Anke Timm: 02 9318 8312
anke.timm@opera.org.au

The Australian Ballet
Helen Cameron: 03 9669 2523
helencam@australianballet.com.au

Australian Brandenburg Orchestra
02 9328 7581
1300 782 856
mail@brandenburg.com.au

New South Wales

Belvoir
Jane May: 02 8396 6222
jane@belvoir.com.au

Sydney Dance Company
DancED Team: 02 9258 4800
education@sydneydancecompany.com

Sydney Symphony Orchestra
Amy Walsh: 02 8215 4603
education@sydneysymphony.com

Sydney Theatre Company
John Saunders: 02 9250 1795
jsaunders@sydneytheatre.com.au

Queensland

Opera Queensland
Mark Taylor: 07 3735 3043
mtaylor@operaq.com.au

Queensland Ballet
Erin White: 07 3013 6666
learn@queenslandballet.com.au

Queensland Symphony Orchestra
Pam Lowry: 07 3833 5035
pam.lowry@qso.com.au

Queensland Theatre Company
Heidi Irvine: 07 3010 7623
hirvine@queenslandtheatre.com.au

South Australia

Adelaide Symphony Orchestra
Emily Gann: 08 8233 6253
ganne@aso.com.au

State Theatre Company of South Australia
Robyn Brookes: 08 8415 5333
education@statetheatrecompany.com.au

State Opera South Australia
08 8226 4790
info@saopera.sa.gov.au

Tasmania

Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra
Rosemary Antonini: 03 6232 4413
antoninir@tso.com.au

Victoria

Malthouse Theatre
Vanessa O’Neill: 03 9685 5164
education@malthousetheatre.com.au

Melbourne Symphony Orchestra
Lucy Bardoel: 03 9626 1198
education@mso.com.au

Melbourne Theatre Company
Suzie Thomas: 03 8688 0900
education@mtc.com.au

Orchestra Victoria
03 9694 3600
OrchestraInfo@australianballet.com.au

Western Australia

Black Swan State Theatre Company
Alena Tompkins: 08 6212 9310
alena@bsstc.com.au

West Australian Ballet
Deborah Robertson: 08 9214 0704
drobertson@waballet.com.au

West Australian Opera
Terasa Letizia: 0417 902 592
education@waopera.asn.au

West Australian Symphony Orchestra
Fiona Taylor: 08 9326 0022
taylorf@waso.com.au

bethwyns
0292535350
Level 4, 10 Hickson Road
New South Wales
Australia
PO Box R1965
Australia
1225

Comments